Our Banner

Mail address:

Cynthia Lucas #1 Mandalay Rd, Stuart, FL 34996 - We could use some help with expenses.

Martin 9/12 Calendar (& City of Stuart)

Thursday, January 13, 2011

This is disgusting.


Mayors Leading the Way on Climate Protection

"Mayors have single-handedly taken action on climate protection efforts and in many cases, creatively launched local energy efficiency programs to help reduce our carbon footprint in American cities." - Tom Cochran, CEO & Executive Director, U.S. Conference of Mayors

Mayors are on the front lines of impacting human behavior - from their work on recycling, to aids prevention, and prostate cancer, they are changing human behavior every day. This is one of many reasons why 1044 mayors continue to join The U.S. Conference of Mayors' Climate Protection Agreement, vowing to reduce carbon emissions in their cities below 1990 levels, in line with the Kyoto Protocol. Seattle Mayor Greg Nickels was the founder of this movement.

Under the leadership of The Conference, the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant (EECBG) Program was conceived, making it possible for the first time in U.S. history, for cities, counties and states to receive grants specifically to fund energy-efficiency projects. This program was a top priority of the Mayors' 10-Point Plan and the Mayors' MainStreet Recovery Program. The Obama Administration earlier this year, acted to distribute $2.8 billion for EECBG, included in the Recovery Package (ARRA), which will benefit hundreds of U.S. cities.

Under the Agreement, participating cities commit to take following three actions:
-  Strive to meet or beat the Kyoto Protocol targets in their own communities, through actions ranging from anti-sprawl land-use policies to urban forest restoration projects to public information campaigns;
- Urge their state governments, and the federal government, to enact policies and programs to meet or beat the greenhouse gas emission reduction target suggested for the United States in the Kyoto Protocol -- 7% reduction from 1990 levels by 2012; and
- Urge the U.S. Congress to pass the bipartisan greenhouse gas reduction legislation, which would establish a national emission trading system

Florida Mayors Who Have Sign On:

Donald Wolfson, Atlantic Beach, FL

Susan Gottlieb, Aventura, FL

Ben Nelson Jr., Bonita Springs, FL

Eric Feichthaler, Cape Coral, FL

Frank Hibbard, Clearwater, FL

Rebecca Tooley, Coconut Creek, FL

Debby Eisinger, Cooper City, FL

Donald Slesnick, II, Coral Gables, FL

Scott Brook, Coral Springs, FL

Paul Vrooman, Cutler Bay, FL

Robert Anton, Dania Beach, FL

Tom Truex, Davie, FL

Albert Capellini, Deerfield Beach, FL

Jeff Perlman, Delray Beach, FL

Juan Carlos Bermudez, Doral, FL

Michael Thomas, Edgewater, FL

Jim Naugle, Fort Lauderdale, FL

James Humphrey, Fort Myers, FL

Robert Benton, III, Fort Pierce, FL

Pegeen Hanrahan, Gainesville, FL

Samuel Ferreri, Greenacres, FL

Michael Yakes, Gulfport, FL

Joy Cooper, Hallandale Beach, FL

Julio Rubaina, Hialeah, FL

Roland Via, Holly Hill, FL

Mara Giulianti, Hollywood, FL

Kenneth Schultz, Hypoluxo, FL

John Peyton, Jacksonville, FL

Robert Vernon, Key Biscayne, FL

Morgan McPherson, Key West, FL

Jeff Clemens, Lake Worth, FL

Ralph Fletcher, Lakeland, FL

Patricia Gerard, Largo, FL

Samuel Brown, Lauderdale Lakes, FL

Richard Kaplan, Lauderhill, FL

Norman Anderson, Layton, FL

Sanna Henderson, Leesburg, FL

Frank Talerico, Margate, FL

Harry Goode, Jr., Melbourne, FL

Manuel Diaz, Miami, FL

David Dermer, Miami Beach, FL

Shirley Gibson, Miami Gardens, FL

Wayne Slaton, Miami Lakes, FL

Lori Moseley, Miramar, FL

Bill Barnett, Naples, FL

Sally Mackay, New Smyrna Beach, FL

Kevin Burns, North Miami, FL

Raymond Marin, North Miami Beach, FL

Steven Arnst, Oakland Park, FL

Buddy Dyer, Orlando, FL

John Mazziotti, Palm Bay, FL

Jack McDonald, Palm Beach, FL

Eric Jablin, Palm Beach Gardens, FL

Thomas Mills, Palm Beach Shores, FL

Eugene Flinn, Palmetto Bay, FL

Michael Udine, Parkland, FL

Emma Shoaff, Pembroke Park, FL

Frank Ortis, Pembroke Pines, FL

Cindy Lerner, Pinecrest, Fl

Rae Armstrong, Plantation, FL

Lamar Fisher, Pompano Beach, FL

Patricia Christensen, Port St. Lucie, FL

Lou Ann Palmer, Sarasota, FL

Clarence Anthony, South Bay, FL

Horace Feliu, South Miami, FL

Edward George, St. Augustine Beach, FL

Norman Edelcup, Sunny Isles Beach, FL

Steven Feren, Sunrise, FL

Manny Marono, Sweetwater, FL

John Marks, Tallahassee, FL

Beth Flansbaum-Talabisco, Tamarac, FL

Pam Iorio, Tampa, FL

Beverley Billiris, Tarpon Springs, FL

Mary Maloof, Treasure Island, FL

Thomas White, Vero Beach, FL

Lois Frankel, West Palm Beach, FL

Eric Jones, Jr., West Park, FL

Scott Newton, Wilton Manors, FL

No comments: